National Shiba Club of America


2022 NSCA Outstanding Sire Award:

  • BIS BISS GCH CH Justa Massimilliano AOM ROMX — Owner: Kim Hoberg & Larry Simons, Breeder: Larry Simons & Lynne Fletcher

2022 NSCA Outstanding Sire Honorable Mention:

  • GCH CH Jogoso's Forged In Fire BCAT — Owner: Susanne Ozasa & Lisa Sakashita, Breeder: Susanne Ozasa & Lisa Sakashita

2021 NSCA Outstanding Sire Award:

  • Not awarded

2019 NSCA Outstanding Sire Award:

  • Fuji No Ryouga Go Midashinosou — Owner: Patricia Doescher, Breeder: Tomio Miyaoka

2017 NSCA Outstanding Sire Award:

  • CH Raidon Go Chichibu Misuzsou — Bill Fletcher, Breanne Kuehler, Lynne Fletcher

2016 NSCA Outstanding Sire Award:

  • GCH Jogoso’s Notorious ROM — Glen and Susanne Ozasa

2015 NSCA Outstanding Sire Award:

  • Kotarou Go Seishirousou — Bill and Lynn Fletcher

NSCA Outstanding Sire Award

The NSCA Outstanding Sire Award is designed to recognize Shiba Inu sire contributions to the breed whose offspring reflect the breed’s character and purpose. NSCA appreciates that the future of the Shiba Inu rests with the sires and dams that produce each successive generation. The degree of excellence is evidenced by the earned titles of the offspring. The Shiba Inu sire with the highest number of points will be awarded the designation of Outstanding Sire. The award will be presented at the annual Awards Banquet at the NSCA National Specialty.

The award will be a plaque stating, “NSCA Outstanding Sire, dog's name, owner’s name (as shown on AKC registration), breeder’s name, National Shiba Club of America.” A certificate for “Outstanding Sire Honorable Mention” will be given to dogs who meet these qualifications but are not the top point earner. Owners of Honorable Mention shibas can reapply in subsequent years, but the dog’s progeny must have had additional accomplishments (more points earned) since the previous application. A picture of the recipient and list of offspring and their titles will be printed in the Shiba E-News and posted on the NSCA Awards webpage.

Application period is May 1 through June 30, 2023. Application form may be obtained on the NSCA Awards webpage or through the Awards Committee Chairperson. All application materials may be submitted electronically or hard copy. Provide copies of official documentation with the application to verify authenticity. An incomplete application (including verification documentation) will not be processed.


    1. A sire must produce at least four qualifying progeny.
    2. A minimum of 100 points (totaled for all qualifying progeny) must be achieved to qualify for the award.
    3. At least two of the four qualifying progeny must have a conformation title.
    4. At least three of the four qualifying progeny must each have a minimum of a twenty point or higher AKC title.
    5. Points are based on the titles earned as described below.
    6. Points are not cumulative within a category and only the highest achievement earned in each category is recognized.
    7. Documentation must be provided for all awards listed.
    8. Copy of AKC registration.
    9. Statement of NCSA membership of owner, by name. This will be verified by the Awards Committee.

      Point Schedule


    • 10 pointsChampion
    • 25 pointsGrand Champion
    • 35 pointsGrand Champion – Bronze Level
    • 45 pointsGrand Champion – Silver Level
    • 60 pointsGrand Champion – Gold Level
    • 75 pointsGrand Champion – Platinum Level


    • 5 pointsBeginner Novice (BN)
    • 10 pointsNovice Companion Dog (CD), Preferred Novice (PCD), or Graduate Novice (GN)
    • 20 pointsOpen Companion Dog Excellent (CDX), or Preferred Open (PCDX)
    • 20 pointsObedience Versatility
    • 30 pointsUtility Dog (UD) or Preferred Utility (PUTD)
    • 40 pointsUtility Dog Excellent (UDX) or Preferred Utility (PUDX)
    • 50 pointsNational Obedience Champion (NOC, POC)
    • 60 pointsObedience Trial Champion (OTCH or POTCH)


    • 10 pointsTracking Dog (TD) or Urban Tracking Dog (TDU)
    • 20 pointsTracking Dog Excellent (TDX)
    • 35 pointsVariable Surface Tracking (VST)
    • 60 pointsTracking Champion (CHT)


    • 5 pointsAgility Coursing Test (ACT1 or ACT2)
    • 10 pointsNovice Agility (NA, NAP, NAJ, NJP, NF, NFP)
    • 20 pointsOpen Agility (OA, OAP, OAJ, PJP, OF, OFP)
    • 25 pointsTime2B (T2B, T2BP)
    • 30 pointsAgility Excellent (AX, AXP, AXJ, AJP, XF, XFP, PAD, PADP)
    • 40 pointsMaster Agility Excellent (MX, MXP, MJP, MXF, MFP)
    • 50 pointsNational Agility Champion (NAC, PNAC)
    • 60 pointsMaster Agility Champion (MACH, PACH, AGCH)


    • 10 pointsRally Novice (RN)
    • 20 pointsRally Advanced (RA)
    • 30 pointsRally Excellent (RE)
    • 35 pointsRally Master (RM
    • 40 pointsRally Advanced Excellent (RAE)
    • 50 pointsRally National Champion (RNC)
    • 60 pointsRally Champion (RACH)

    Coursing Ability

    • 10 pointsCoursing Ability (CA)
    • 15 pointsCoursing Ability Advanced (CAA)
    • 20 pointsCoursing Ability Excellent (CAX)


    • 10 pointsBCAT
    • 15 pointsDCAT
    • 20 pointsFCAT

    Barn Hunt

    • 10 pointsNovice (RATN)
    • 20 pointsOpen (RATO)
    • 30 pointsSenior (RATS)
    • 40 pointsMaster (RATM) or Crazy 8’s (CZ8B, CZ8S, CZ8G, CA8P)
    • 60 pointsChampion (RATCH or RATCHX)

    Farm Dog

    • 3 pointsFarm Dog Certified (FDC)

    Canine Good Citizen

    • 3 pointsCanine Good Citizen (CGC) or Canine Good Citizen, Urban) (CGCU)
    • 5 pointsCanine Good Citizen Advanced (CGCA)

    Therapy Dog

    • 10 pointsTherapy Dog Novice (THDN)
    • 20 pointsTherapy Dog (THD)
    • 30 pointsTherapy Dog Advanced (THDA)
    • 40 pointsTherapy Dog Excellent (THDX)
    • 50 pointsDistinguished Therapy Dog (THDD)

    Scent Work

    • 10 pointsNovice/Novice Elite (SCN, SCNE, SIN, SINE, SEN, SENE, SBN, SBNE, SHDN, SHDNE)
    • 20 pointsAdvanced/Advanced Elite (SCA, SCAE, SIA, SIAE, SEA, SEAE, SBA, SBAE, SHDA, SHDAE)
    • 30 pointsExcellent/Excellent Elite (SCE, SCEE, SIE, SIEE, SEE, SEEE, SBE, SBEE, SHDE, SHDEE)
    • 40 pointsMaster/Master Elite (SCM, SCME, SIM, SIME, SEM, SEME, SBM, SBME, SHDM, SHDME)
    • 50 pointsScent Work Multi-Class Master (SWM, SWME)

    Search & Rescue

    • 10 pointsSearch & Rescue – Urban 1 (SAR-U1)
    • 20 pointsSearch & Rescue – Urban 2 (SAR-U2)
    • 30 pointsSearch & Rescue – Urban 3 (SAR-U3)
    • 50 pointsSearch & Rescue – Wilderness (SAR-W)

    Trick Dog

    • 5 pointsTrick Dog Novice (TKN)
    • 10 pointsTrick Dog Intermediate – TKI)
    • 15 pointsTrick Dog Advanced (TKA)
    • 20 pointsTrick Dog Performer (TKP)
    • 25 pointsTrick Dog Elite Performer (TKE)


    • 10 pointsFlyball Dog Champion (FDCh)
    • 15 pointsFlyball Master (FM)
    • 20 pointsONYX

    Diving Dog

    • 20 pointsDivision titles (DN, DJ, DS, DM, DE, AN, AJ, AS, AM, AE)
    • 35 pointsAdvanced (DNA, DJA, DSA, DMA, DEA, ANA, AJA, ASA, AMA, AEA)
    • 50 pointsExcellent (DNX, DJX, DSX, DMS, DEX, ANX, AJX, ASX, AMX, AEX)



Awards Chairperson
Katrina Nielsen